Translate Our blog in any Language!



Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Nakshatras – the templates of our lives Part I

Free Vedic Astrology Article.

Nakshatra is a 13˚20’ segment of the circle described by our earth as it hurtles in space around Sun. The path is actually an ellipse but to simplify calculations it is taken to be a circle.

A circle has 360˚ and these are divided into twelve signs of 30˚ each. Each segment is given a name. Starting from the first one which is called Aries, we call succeeding signs Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

Thirty degrees is rather a large part of the Zodiac, so to bring more precision to our predictions we subdivide each sign into nine equal segments of 3˚20’. Four of these segments when grouped together are termed a Nakshatra and have a profound effect on our life.

We said above that a Nakshatra has four segments of 3˚20’ each. Each of these segments is called a Pada or charan in Sanskrit (quarter). This gives us a measure of a Nakshatra as 3˚20’X4 = 13˚20’. It follows that a sign can have only two complete Nakshatra and these two will occupy 13˚20’X2 = 26˚40’ of a total of 30˚ that a sign has, leaving a remainder of 3˚20 minutes.

If we divide 360˚ into sections of 13˚20’ we get a total of 27 segments. Each of this segment is given a name. The first one is called Ashwini followed by Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrigshira, Ardra, Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha, Magha, Poorv Phalguni, Uttar Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Vishakha, Anuradha, Jyeshtha, Mool, Poorv Ashadh, Uttar Ashadh, Shravan, Dhanishtha, Shatabhisha, Poorv Bhadrapad, Uttar Bhadrapad and Revati.

Let us take the first sign Aries and see how this arrangement looks when applied there there. The first Nakshatra Ashwini takes up the first 13˚20’; followed by Bharani which runs from 13˚20’ to 26˚40’. The remainder 3˚20˚ are occupied by the first quarter of Krittika and its next three Pada spill over into Taurus.

This arrangement is repeated across all signs until all 27 Nakshatra are assimilated in 12 signs.

In the next Blog, What do Nakshatra say about a chart?

Rajiv Sethi

Bouquets and brickbats at,
Mobile 9899589211

The content of this blog is copyright protected and no part of this article in any shape and form may be used for any purpose without the written permission of the author.

© 2010 copyright Your website for horoscopes, astrology, daily horoscope, love astrology and everything else.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for this post, Rajiv!
    So different from Western astrology!
    I must say that I am learning....very, very slowly!


Your question and comments are very important for me, as are your suggestions for new topics. Trust me when I say that it is extremely difficult to find new topics every day.

E-Book on Saturn